so this is what i have been working on for the past two or so days, it’s a story, read it if you wamt, it’s kind of long, and a little depressign for my style or writting, but it’s going to pick up in the next cuople of chapters, if you like it cool, if not cool.


 


The Last Great Adventure


 



Chapter 1


“This one ran away.”


I ran down the street as fast as my legs could carry me, I saw the house the door closed I was almost home free.  I got to the door and without even pausing to catch my breath I knocked hard, there was no answer. I kicked the door as hard as I could, hurting my foot in the process, I screamed to the girl who I hoped to all God was still in the house “Come on it’s me let me in, there coming, there almost here, let me in!” I could here footsteps coming towards the door, they were a relive.  My heart raced and felt as though it was flying out of my chest, the beating was so loud I could swear that the rest of the world could hear it.


“What’s the password?” came form a friendly voice form the other side of the door.


“Kayla there no time to play around just let me in.” I look over my shoulder and saw two dark figures behind me, “They’re here, come on, they’re here, let me in!” I lend on the door and could hear my heart go faster, it didn’t think it could go as fast as it was beating before, but I was wrong it felt as though I was about to die from the speed.


Just then the door swung open to reveal my friend dressed in all black, she looked at the dark figures in the background that were coming closer to us, she froze in her tracks the only thing she could say was, “Oh my God,” it came softly as she stared at the figures who seemed to close to imagine.


“No time for dramatics Kay-Jay we need to go now!” I grabbed her by the arm and ran as fast as I could down the halls of her house, pulling her behind me. We got to a room with large windows. Kayla still in a state of shock stood still in the door way. I pulled her in and shut the door behind us. I looked around for something to break the window; the room was almost empty besides a bed and a desk with a chair there was nothing to cover the uncarpeted floors.


“We aren’t going to make it.” Kayla said quietly lowering her head.


I slapped her across the face, “Snap out of it man. Don’t talk like that, we’ve done this once and we’ll do it again.”


“What the heck are you talking about we’ve never done this.” She began to panic.


“That’s not the point and you know it.” I broke the window with the chair under the desk in the corner.


We jumped through the broken glass and ran though the grass of her backyard to her neighbor’s house across the way. At her neighbor’s house, we jumped into the old beat up station wagon that was conveniently sitting in the drive way with the keys inside, I pushed on the gas petal as hard as I could with my injured foot and we were off.


The only words that were spoken were from Kayla asking “What’s going to happen next?”


And me responding quietly, with no feeling “I don’t know, hopefully Lakin has a plan.”


We pulled up on the curb of Lakins house and walked up to her door with our heads hanging low. I knocked softly on the door, and within a few seconds Lakin answered. She was shocked to see us, after what had happened a few weeks ago I knew she wasn’t expecting to see me for a while, but she was the only one left to turn to now.


“No, you guys can not be here; my mom already hates you over that whole fire thing.” She shook her head as if to say no, but I knew that it meant god what is happening “If my mom sees you she will kill you, and me.”


“Hey that fire thing wasn’t my fault, and she knows it.” I pushed her out the the way and walked into the house.


“I thought you were leaving.” She said in a sad voice as she closed the door behind us.


“Yeah, change of planes, I’m not going anymore, I left the plane.”


“You mean you ran away.” She sad disappointedly.


“No I don’t run form anything. Okay yeah I ran away, but when you say it like that it sounds like band thing and this it totally a good thing.” I looked down at my dirty chucks that now had a hole in them from the run across the grass “At least it started out as a good thing, now I don’t know what it is.”


“Maybe you should just go.” Lakin said, I could tell she was upset with me.


“Where am I suppose to go, home, I don’t have a home anymore, it was packed up and sent off to a far away land, remember.” I sat down on the couch.


“Go with your family stupid, that’s what your suppose to do when you move, go with your family like everyone else, remember.” Lakin sat down across form me


“No I can’t, way too much has already happened, if I give up now then what would have been the point of all the trouble I went through to get here.”


“What trouble you ran away form the plane before it took off!” Lakin yelled


“Yeah and got a huge gash in my leg from running into a seat.”


”So what do you want me to do?” Lakin asked, you could tell from her voice she was upset and didn’t want to ask that question.


“We were kind of hoping you had a plan.” Kayla asked


“Oh no remember last time I gave you guys a plan.”


                       


**FLASH BACK**


“Okay now were lost nice job Lakin” I yelled out


“Shut up you’re the one that said to go with the road.”


“Yeah but you never listen to me, that’s freaking rule number one.”


“Okay shut up I have a plan.” She looked around “Okay there some sticks we can make a smoke signal, with those and these matches” she took a book of matches out of her pocket


“What are we freaking Indians? And where did you get matches from?”


“Hey remember ‘no you don’t need your cell phone we’ll be fine’ and now look at us so it’s smoke signal or nothing, and I’m not choosing nothing.”


“Fine smoke signal it is.” I started to pick up sticks.


*********************


 


“And then the fire broke out of control and burned that barn down, we were lucky no ones was in it.” She continued.


“No you were lucky no one was in it, I was lucky I had you to blame.” I smiled.


“God see you always do this blame everyone else for everything. You always screw up and then blame it on me or who ever is next to you.”


“Okay fine what do you want me to say? I messed up, okay I messed up, and I’m sorry. I need your help Lakin, there coming for me, and they’re coming fast, so please help me, this is the last time I promise.” I looked down, “Don’t make me go please I can’t go it’ll destroy me. Please.”


She looked at me, her eyes filled with both hatred and sympathy; I knew that meant that she was going to help me. I stood up and smiled, she couldn’t help but smile back, I knew that she was in it till the end, besides what else was she going to do, this town is boring.


“Okay lets go, we are going to her house.” She looked at me in a scared way.


“No not her house.” Kayla said shocked at the suggestion.


“She’s the only one who can help us now, if they’re after her than she’s the only one who knows how to get ride of them.”


We ran out the door back into the station wagon. We where now headed to her house. It was forbidden to go to her house, it was like seeing The Wizard in The Wizard of Oz, you just didn’t do it unless you had a god reason, and were brave enough to get there, and that’s only if you knew the way.


The way to her house was passed down form generation to generation in Lakins family they were the keeper of the all knowing Her and the way to her was never told or shown to anyone out side of the Adams family, until now.


When we got up to the house, I was shaking, I couldn’t believe it, I wasn’t afraid of anything, but this was freaking me out. All the stories that I had herd about her ran though my head, I could only think of the bad things never the good parts of the story, I guess that just what happened when your so afraid of one thing that you’d rather run through hot fire before facing them.  We knocked on the door, I looked at Kayla you could tell that she thought that this wasn’t a good idea, I had the same, but I trusted Lakins judgment, she was right about 97% of the time, but I was so afraid that I couldn’t figure out if this was going to fall into the 3% or not, so I just stood there and let her do what she was doing.


A woman answered the door; she was small and in a brown bath robe. “Yes what is it, what do you want?”


“We’ve come to see her.” Lakin said softly.


“What is the password?” The lady asked hiding behind the door.


Lakin leaned forward and whispered something into the old women’s ear. The women nodded her head, and opened the door all the way. The house was amazingly clean and smelled like jasmine. I walked onto the carpet.


“Hey shoes off.” The old women said pointing down at my dirty chucks.


“Oh I apologize.” I bent over and took off my shoes and put them in the door way, I smiled at the old women who looked angry at me; everyone seemed to be giving me that look lately.


We headed up stairs without saying a word, I was going to say something but everyone seemed so serious that I didn’t want to ruin the solitude. We reached a door cover in white paper, Lakin opened the door slowly.


“Lakin, Kayla, Shyla wow it’s so good to see you guys.” A happy voice came flowing towards us.


“Hey Stephanie, it’s good to see you to.” Lakin walked over and gave Stephanie a hug. “We have a problem.”


“I know you do, this one ran away and now Flight Attendants are after her.” Stephanie sat down on here perfectly made bed and gave me a look as to say ‘what’s wrong with you’ then smiled “You need a plan.”


“Yeah we were hoping you had one.” I walked up to her.


“I’m afraid I can’t help you, at least not with this one.” She picked up a book that was sitting on her end table.


“What the heck do you mean you can’t help us, your suppose to be all knowing, how can you not help us.” Kayla asked


 She put the book face down on her lap, “Okay I can help you, but I don’t want to so I’m not going to.” She smiled. “You need to figure this one out yourself, sorry.”


“I understand.” I said putting my head down.


“You do?” Kayla was in shock.


“Thanks anyways Steph.” I left the room.


She was right I needed to figure this one out on my own, and I knew that I just didn’t want to admit it.  I sat on the floor with my back against the wall and my head down. I was a screw up and I knew that and now I was forced to fix my own problem, something I never had to do, I always had someone to fix them for me. This was scary, admitting all this was starting to freak me out, “Am I becoming more of an adult.” I said quietly to my self. I think I am.


“You are.” Kayla said sitting next to me, “But that doesn’t mean I can’t come with you.”


I smiled the kind of smile when you finally figure out something great. When I stood up from being supported by the wall it was like I was finally standing up from being supported by other people, this was getting intense.


“You two ready to go?” Lakin stood in front of me smiling happily.


“Are you coming with us?” I asked as I helped Kayla up from the ground.


“Heck yes I wouldn’t miss this crap for the world.” We all laughed because we knew that it was true.


It seems as though since we meet that we were having adventures, I can still remember the one in eighth grade when one of us almost got caught in a closet of an evil teacher. We were a group that couldn’t be separated, and strangely, we all knew that none of us wanted to be separated form each other, why do you think I escaped form the plane.  We were just missing two components of the group, and there was no way that I was going on this adventure, which may prove to be our last without them.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

